Tags

, , , , ,

Cayla.

Cayla.

Tomorrow two of our dogs, Zia and Star, are going to the vet to be operated on, no babies for these girls. We have 7 dogs, 5 of which are females, meaning a hefty sum of money going to the vets for them to be spayed but needs must. Zia’s sister Cayla was operated on back in March but I held off having Zia done then because she hadn’t yet come into season and it was financially easier to have them done separately.

Big baby Zia

Big baby Zia


Then last week Zia came into heat and I don’t know which of us was more put out, me because I knew I’d have to get her to the vets quickly or Zia, who is without doubt the biggest baby and screamed in terror every time our dog Billy came anywhere near her, thankfully our other male dog is still too young to have any interest.

Totti telling Billy to bugger off

Totti telling Billy to bugger off

Billy is in love with Totti and although she was spayed a long time ago, Billy was convinced she was the one he should be mating with, Totti wasn’t keen, quite the reverse and told him so in no uncertain terms but then she seemed to think she should be mounting Zia and got pretty cross with her when Zia had another screaming fit.

Billy and some of the other dogs often choose to sleep outside at night but I thought it best to bring them in, worried that Billy would keep everyone awake barking through the gates at the other dogs from the neighbourhood that are sniffing around the house after Zia.

Having gone to bed, I was woken several times in the night as Billy tried his luck first with Zia, who screamed at him, then with Totti who told him to get lost in a more aggressive way, or Xadi having a go at Zia (probably annoyed at being kept awake by her screaming), or Cayla, who cannot bear any of the dogs coming near her when she’s sleeping, having a go at all of them. What a nice calm and peaceful household we had that night.

Xadi

Xadi

The next night I put Billy and Totti outside with the rest of the dogs inside, sleep was had by all. Well it was until about 4 in the morning when we were woken by a god awful din, a major dog fight in the garden.

Totti has a bark that goes right through you, a very powerful bark, Billy’s bark rises in pitch as he gets more exited and then there was a third one in the mix. Some dog had managed to jump our garden wall and unfortunately for him had met with an unexpected reception committee who were now chasing him around the house like the furies, while he tried alternately to bark and growl and then howl in terror as he tried to find a way out.

Unfortunately for me, Neu was still attached to his dialysis machine and so while he was awake, there was nothing he could do to help out. So there goes me in my nightie out in the dark to try to break up the dog fight before the noise woke the whole village.

From our bedroom the closest door to the garden is a split door (stable style), I went out through that and shut the bottom part behind me, forgetting that Zia and Cayla can both jump the door, so as I began chasing three dogs round the garden, I was suddenly over taken by Zia and Cayla and was now chasing five dogs round the garden, there was no way our neighbours were sleeping through that din.

The poor intruder dog was completely overwhelmed by my lot, who thankfully are definitely more bark than bite. I managed (somewhat to my surprise) to get them to all back off and shepard the large scruffy black and white intruder dog to a gate, being stalked at a distance of a few paces by the other dogs who were all still growling low. Now I had to get the gate open and the dog through it, while keeping my self between my dogs and him so they didn’t run off after him. I didn’t dare touch the dog as I thought he might bite me but in his fearful state he decided sitting still and refusing to move was the best plan, helpful!

With the gate open, I picked up a stick that was lying by my feet and ran it over the sand towards him, thankfully that movement and Billy’s decision to come a bit closer was enough to send him flying through the gate tail between his legs but moving like a rocket. Once all was locked up again, I could go back to bed just as the sun was rising.

So Zia is going to the vets and Star is going too, she’s old enough for the operation and so it makes sense to get her done now, I really don’t want any more nights like these last ones.

Skahpolo and Star. Who's got the biggest ears then?

Skahpolo and Star. Oh my what big ears you’ve got!

Have you any funny dog tails? I’d love to hear them 🙂

